The Board is chaired by Peter Yates AM and meets four times a year. Deputy chairs are Robyn Williams from the ABC and Professor Merlin Crossley from the University of New South Wales (UNSW). Board members include:

Peter Yates AM, Chair Chairman, RiAus and Chairman, Business and Economics Board, Faculty of Business and Economics, The University of Melbourne
Dr Amanda Caples Lead Scientist, Victorian Government
Jim Carroll Director of News, Current Affairs and Sport, SBS
Professor Caroline McMillen  Chief Scientist for South Australia
Professor Merlin Crossley, Deputy Chair Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic, The University of New South Wales (UNSW)
Professor Karen Day Dean of Science, The University of Melbourne
Professor Graham Durant AM Director, Questacon
Harry Efthimiou Chief Integration Officer, AIA Australia
Dr Michael Ellies Business and media consultant
Liam Mannix Nine Entertainment Co.
Professor Kiaran Kirk Dean, ANU College of Science, The Australian National University
Melvin Mansell State Editorial Director, SA, WA, NT & TAS, News Corp Australia
Professor Melissa Brown Executive Dean, Faculty of Science,
The University of Queensland
Jemimah Brennan Head of Communications Asia Pacific, CSL Ltd
Gordon Radford Johnson Winter and Slattery
Professor Brian Yates Executive Dean, College of Sciences and Engineering, University of Tasmania
Professor Robert Saint Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Flinders University
Robyn Williams, Deputy Chair Presenter, Science Show, ABC
Bradley Abraham Chief Executive Officer, RiAus
Tanya Bowes Director of Corporate Affairs, CSIRO
Professor Chris Moran Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Curtin University
David Swinbanks Chairman, Springer Nature, Australia and New Zealand
Professor Peter Rathjen Vice Chancellor and President, The University of Adelaide
Professor Dianne Jolley Dean, Faculty of Science, University of Technology Sydney (UTS)

The Board is governed by the AusSMC’s constitution and acknowledges the Centre’s Statement of Independence.