The AusSMC needs the support of Australian science experts in all fields of science and has the support of a Science Advisory Panel to provide advice when needed. Our Science Advisory Panel membership includes:

Professor Snow Barlow School of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences,
The University of Melbourne
Dr Alan Finkel AM Australia’s Chief Scientist (and AusSMC patron)
Professor Lyn Beazley AO Former Chief Scientist of WA, Professor of Zoology, University of Western Australia
Emeritus Professor Max Brennan AO Former Chief Scientist for South Australia
Professor Adrienne Clarke AC Former Chancellor, La Trobe University, Melbourne
Professor Alan Cooper Director, Australian Centre for Ancient DNA, University of Adelaide
Professor Marcello Costa FAA Professor of Neurophysiology, School of Medicine, Flinders University
Professor Derek Denton AC University of Melbourne
Professor Peter Doherty AC Laureate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology,
The University of Melbourne
Professor Tim Flannery Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute
Professor Emma Johnston (TBC) President, Science and Technology Australia (ex-officio)
Professor Bryan Gaensler Dunlap Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics, University of Toronto
Dr Geoff Garrett AO Former Queensland Chief Scientist
Baroness Professor Susan A Greenfield CBE Professor of Pharmacology, University of Oxford, UK
(Also International Patron of the AusSMC)
Professor Richard Head Adjunct Professor, University of South Australia
Professor Robert Hill Director, the Environment Institute, The University of Adelaide
Professor Marcia Langton AM Associate Provost, The University of Melbourne
Emeritus Professor Ian Lowe AO Griffith University and former President, Australian Conservation Foundation
Professor Caroline McMillen Vice Chancellor and President, The University of Newcastle
Emeritus Professor Sir Gustav Nossal AC CBE Department of Pathology, The University of Melbourne
Professor Joseph Siracusa, President (TBC) Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (CHASS) (ex-officio)
Professor Michelle Simmons Director, Centre for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology,
University of New South Wales and 2018 Australian of the Year
Professor Fiona Stanley AC Patron, Telethon Kids Institute
Professor Patricia Vickers-Rich Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology, Swinburne University
Professor Malcolm Walter Founding Director, Australian Centre for Astrobiology, University of New South Wales
Professor Bob Williamson AO Faculty of Medicine, University of Melbourne

Past SAP members:

Professor Ken Baldwin former President of FASTS
Stuart Cunningham former President of CHASS
Emeritus Professor Frank Fenner AC CMG MBE Visiting Fellow at John Curtin School of Medical Research, Australian National University
Professor David Henry University of Newcastle (now based overseas)
Professor Peter Andrews AO Former Queensland Chief Scientist
Emeritus Professor Nancy Millis AC MBE Department of Microbiology, University of Melbourne
Professor Robin Batterham AO University of Melbourne