The Board is chaired by Peter Yates AM and meets four times a year. Deputy chairs are Robyn Williams from the ABC and Professor Merlin Crossley, Dean of Science at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). Board members include:

Peter Yates AM, Chair Chairman, RiAus and Chairman, Business and Economics Board, Faculty of Business and Economics, The University of Melbourne
Jim Carroll Director of News, Current Affairs and Sport, SBS
John Croll Chief Executive Officer, iSentia
Professor Merlin Crossley, Deputy Chair Dean of Science, The University of New South Wales (UNSW)
Professor David Day Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Flinders University
Professor Graham Durant AM Director, Questacon
Harry Efthimiou CFO, AIA Australia
Michael Ellies Business and media consultant
Brad Hatch Director of Communications, Fairfax Media
TBA Orica Ltd
Sharon McHale Senior Director, Public Affairs, CSL Ltd
Professor Mary O’Kane NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer
Melvin Mansell State Editorial Director, SA, WA & NT, News Corp Australia
Fiona McLeod External Affairs Manager, Australia Pacific LNG
Gordon Radford Johnson Winter and Slattery
Professor Karen Day Dean of Science, The University of Melbourne
Hon Jay Weatherill Premier, Govt of South Australia
Robyn Williams, Deputy Chair
Presenter, Science Show, ABC
Leonie Walsh Lead Scientist, Victorian Government
Dr Paul Willis Director, RiAus
Professor Anton Middelberg The University of Queensland
Professor Attila Brungs Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Technology Sydney (UTS)

The Board is governed by the AusSMC’s constitution and acknowledges the Centre’s Statement of Independence.